University of Latvia Young Minds Section was established on July 7, 2014 by five students of University of Latvia: Arturs Cinins, Inga Saknite, Janis Smits, Guntars Kitenbergs and Anda Svagere.

The Section was established with the following objectives:
  1. to promote awareness of physics research and applications in the academic and local communities;
  2. to serve as a means of communication and interaction between students, faculty and administration on a local, national and international level;
  3. to establish interaction between students and young researchers, peer Young Minds Sections, and the European Physical Society headquarters;
  4. to broaden the member’s insight of post-graduate opportunities.